Review: Love is an Action by Bry Foster

Love is an Action is a standalone new adult-novel by Bry Foster. It’s the first book I’ve read by the author and I loved it! The book is about the lonely and lost Khloe Hudson and the French Cash Castille. Their romance is an enemy-turned-lovers. They start out being enemies, but soon the sparks are flying.

— Blurb —

“Khloe Hudson is all out of everything.

All out of patience for her alcoholic father. All out of money from her summer job savings. All out of scholarship essay ideas. And all out of room in her heart for people who don’t care to see her for who she really is.

But even she has to admit that the French jerk attending her academy is starting to worm his way in just a bit.

Cash Castille couldn’t care less about what Khloe thinks she knows. None of her advanced classes have taught her that love isn’t something that can be measured or figured out using scientific methods. Actions often speak louder than words. And although he gets a rise out of driving her crazy, he can’t help but wonder when her brain will stop arguing with what their hearts already know.

When Cash drops a bomb and asks for the favor of a lifetime, Khloe reluctantly agrees because despite the terms, she needs the benefits of their arrangement. However, as Cash and Khloe navigate through their new found relationship, she can’t help but wonder if the cost of this ploy will be another expense she can’t afford to give. Her heart.”

— Review —

“Why is love interpreted in so many ways and yet, can’t really be explained? Is love not universal? And if love isn’t universal, why does it seem that everyone is striving for it?”

Khloe feels like she’s all alone in the world and she doesn’t really know what love is. Her mother left her father and her when she was just nine years old and since then her father has only been drinking. No love there. She has been the parent in the house for a very long time, not only caring for herself (paying for her own food and education), but also for her father. That’s so twisted! I can’t understand how a mother could leave her own child or how a father could just stop caring about everything, losing himself in alcohol. Why would you put a child on this earth if you’re just going to abandon it?

“I’m tired of feeling suffocated by him all the time. A part of me wishes that I didn’t care about him as much as I do. My life would be less painful if I didn’t.”

Now Khloe is done. She’s running low on patience for her alcoholic father. Even though she tries really hard to distance herself from him, she can’t, because she cares for him too much. After all those years as a shitty father, it’s still her father, the parent that stayed. Luckily she does have her best friend, Liz, and Liz’ mother, Jasmine. They are there for her, but unfortunately that’s not the same as having your own family that cares for you. Occasionally, she feels jealous that Liz has two parents that care (even when they aren’t together). However, she does feel guilty about that. She just can’t stop those feelings of envy. Than there’s also the fact that she has a limited amount of money and it’s difficult for her to keep paying her very expensive education at the pretentious academy.

“I may not show him the way other people would, but Cash is an important fixture in my life. As hard as it is for me to let people into my life, once they’re in, they’re in.”

And than there’s the French jerk, but very handsome Cash Castille. From the first moment she saw him, she disliked him. She doesn’t understand the reason why, but he simply gets on her nerves and he enjoys it too. She has known him for a very long time now and even though she doesn’t like him that much, they grew very close in all these years. Also, she has to admit he’s gorgeous and she feels peculiar things when he’s in her proximity.

“It is gratifyingly irritating that he can frustrate me and captivate me without even trying.”

Cash has his own problems and he needs a huge favor from Khloe. First, she has her doubts, but when she finds out it can benefit her financially she jumps at the chance. She needs the cash. After discovering some shocking details about Cash and spending more time with him (because of their deal), she gets even more attached to him than she already is. In Love is an Action, Cash teaches Khloe not only how to love, but also how to chase your dreams. As they try to figure out how to deal with each other in this new kind of relationship, Khloe finds out she has to give up a lot to be with Cash. Can she survive this?

Khloe and Cash’ story is told in the first person narrative. Khloe tells the readers about their story while describing her life and her feelings in the present tense. I could really identify with Khloe because of this and she was by far my favorite character. She felt real to me and I hated everything she had to go through. The story was predictable in the sense that I knew from the beginning if Khloe and Cash would be together, but there are a couple of unforeseeable twists on the way. Some parts of the book made me cry, Khloe’s father is just really a jerk.

“Our love is a Picasso in a room full of da Vinci’s. Not better, just in a different taste. We are not like everyone else. Like he said, we are in a league of our own.”

But there were also times I laughed out loud. I loved the banter between Khloe and Cash and how Cash would frustrate Khloe. I like that Khloe tried to hide her feelings by acting a certain way towards him. The chemistry between the two was sizzling. Once I started reading, I couldn’t stop. I had to keep on going, the story kept me turning pages. And I loved the writing so much, I kept highlighting sentences on the page. I also loved Cash’ grandmother. First, I thought she was a b*tch, as did Khloe, but later on you notice how sweet she actually is and how much she understands Khloe and wants to help her. Furthermore, that fairytale ending <3!

“I have never felt like I have been a part of a real family before. And the acceptance I feel at this moment is better than anything I have ever felt before.”

What was a little bit confusing though, was the timeline of the story. The story is told in chronological order, but is interspersed with flashbacks. The first few times I was put of by it, but later on I recognized when it happened. The writer also has the tendency to skip some days, without making clear how many days exactly. As a result, I really don’t have any clue what the timeframe of this story is.

“I am not sure anyone else in my life knows that I hide behind my smile, my jokes. Everything I do is to distract people from the fact that I’ve always felt so lonely and lost in my own skin.”

If you love reading New Adult-books, than this amazing story about feeling alone, letting go, being afraid to fall in love, and family is an absolute must for your To Read list!

“I don’t think he will ever know how much that meant to me that even without knowing it, he was answering the calls of my heart and not deterred by my words. My mouth may have been telling him to go but my heart… is always begging someone to stay.”

— 4 Action Stars —

Love, Michelle

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898 

buy4._V192207739_

11231152_1621458111453406_5800714355605695788_n

Leave a Reply

