Review: Grey by E.L. James

Grey by E.L. James
Series: Fifty Shades #4
Published: June 18, 2015
Published by Vintage
Genres: Romance, Erotica
Also by this author: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed


black-underline-swirl-hi

BLURB FROM GOODREADS

See the world of Fifty Shades of Grey anew through the eyes of Christian Grey.
In Christian’s own words, and through his thoughts, reflections, and dreams, E L James offers a fresh perspective on the love story that has enthralled millions of readers around the world.
Christian Grey exercises control in all things; his world is neat, disciplined, and utterly empty—until the day that Anastasia Steele falls into his office, in a tangle of shapely limbs and tumbling brown hair. He tries to forget her, but instead is swept up in a storm of emotion he cannot comprehend and cannot resist. Unlike any woman he has known before, shy, unworldly Ana seems to see right through him—past the business prodigy and the penthouse lifestyle to Christian’s cold, wounded heart.
Will being with Ana dispel the horrors of his childhood that haunt Christian every night? Or will his dark sexual desires, his compulsion to control, and the self-loathing that fills his soul drive this girl away and destroy the fragile hope she offers him?
This book is intended for mature audiences.

black-underline-swirl-hi

REVIEW

“I want to own this woman, body and soul. I want her”

I read the first book of the Fifty Shades trilogy a couple years ago. So, when I read Grey (the first book, told from Christian’s perspective) some passages were more familiar than others. With some parts I was like: “Oh, I remember this. This is what Anastasia thought.” Reading other parts I thought: “Did this happen? I can’t remember it.” It was really nice to read about Christian’s thoughts in all those moments.

“I want so much from her: her trust, her obedience, her submission. I want her to be mine, but right now…I’m hers.”

Some sentences where in Italic. Those were Grey’s real thoughts. Perhaps things he really wanted to say to Ana, but thought better of and in the end didn’t. I loved those sentences. They brought Grey closer and made you understand him better. I loved how Grey’s book answered some of the questions I had. (Keep in mind that I didn’t read Fifty Shades Freed). For example, I got to understood the fear of being touched and (finally) found out what happened with his mother.

“She’s my dream catcher. She keeps my nightmares at bay.”

I’m a little bit disappointed though, because there are still questions that are left unanswered. Maybe if I’ll read Fifty Shades Freed, those questions won’t be questions anymore. I also found the ending really stupid, but I also understand it. I just would’ve liked it if the ending wasn’t so abrupt.

“I want to stay in her mind. I need to stay in her mind.”

Over all, I liked to read the book and to get a sneak peek in the head of the infamous and intriguing Christian Grey. An absolute must-read if you’re not shy of steamy sex scenes and if you read the other Fifty Shades books.

black-underline-swirl-hi

4 FIFTY SHADES STARS

black-underline-swirl-hi

LINKS

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898 buy4._V192207739_

Love,
Michelle

Leave a Reply

