Book Review: ARCHER’S VOICE by Mia Sheridan

Archer’s Voice was my first book from Mia Sheridan, but it certainly won’t be my last. Because Bree and Archer stole my heart and I don’t want it back! Archer’s Voice is one of the best books I’ve ever read. It’s a love story between the silent and broken loner, Archer, and a broken girl, Bree, who is in need of a restart. Go grap your own copy (check the end of this article for the pre-order links).

Cover
Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan
Released on January 25, 2014
Series: None, stand-alone
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Coming of Age
Also by this author: Leo, Stinger, Kyland, Becoming Calder

black-underline-swirl-hi

BLURB FROM GOODREADS

A New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling book. Archer’s Voice is a full-length, standalone romance.
When Bree Prescott arrives in the sleepy, lakeside town of Pelion, Maine, she hopes against hope that this is the place where she will finally find the peace she so desperately seeks. On her first day there, her life collides with Archer Hale, an isolated man who holds a secret agony of his own. A man no one else sees.
Archer’s Voice is the story of a woman chained to the memory of one horrifying night and the man whose love is the key to her freedom. It is the story of a silent man who lives with an excruciating wound and the woman who helps him find his voice. It is the story of suffering, fate, and the transformative power of love.
THIS IS A STANDALONE SIGN OF LOVE NOVEL, INSPIRED BY SAGITTARIUS. New Adult Contemporary Romance: Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

Schermafbeelding 2016-01-27 om 23.43.15

black-underline-swirl-hi

REVIEW

“As I stared at him, it felt like something moved between us, almost as if I should reach out and try to grab the air surrounding our bodies–like perhaps my hand would come back holding something tangible, something soft and warm.”

Bree feels all alone in this world, even though she has some good friends. She lost both her parents, her father recently. I’m not going to spoil how it happened, but I will say that it was a tragedy. Bree suffers from a trauma. She regularly has nightmares, and because of the anxiety, she has terrible flashbacks every morning. She seeks a temporary escape and moves to a small town, where she meets Archer. Bree has a great personality: she is curious, she can be a little bit awkward sometimes, she is protective, and helpful.

“They don’t know who you are, Archer. They have no idea. And they don’t deserve to know. Don’t let their judgment hurt you.”

Archer is a breath of fresh air for me. I loved to read about a male character who wasn’t cocky for a change, but who is incredibly uncertain, and doesn’t know how to act in some situations. He can’t speak, so he is quiet and silent. He can’t speak because some really awful things that happened, that also led to the death of his parents, when he was seven years old. People in town don’t try to communicate with Archer, and Archer doesn’t try to with them. That causes him to be isolated. The only person who actually gives it a shot is Bree. She knows how to sign, because her dad was deaf, and Archer knows how to sign, because he taught himself. So, they connect. Archer is silent, alone, and uncertain, but when you get past that he is actually quite funny, helpful, caring, and protective.

“I realized that people’s reactions had more to do with them, more to do with who they were, than anything about me.”

Archer and Bree both help each other, but in different ways. Archer gives Bree comfort, and he gives her a chance to grief and get past the awful thing that happened to her. Bree tries to take care of Archer, because nobody ever tried to do that. And, they are both learning how to trust, and how to let other people in.

ArchersVoice-screen

Archer’s Voice is written from two perspectives: Bree’s and Archer’s. Mostly from Bree’s, and only Archer’s when it’s necessary for the story. There are also flashbacks to a younger Archer (seven and fourteen years old). I don’t know what to say, I loved the choices Mia made in regards to the perspectives, the storyline, and the writing. I thought Mia’s writing is just perfection. She had me highlighting almost every page. It actually was very difficult to choose a couple quotes for this review. There were just so many I loved. And, the start was great. It starts with a flashback, and has you engaged to the story at that exact moment. I also loved how both Archer and Bree grew throughout the story, Archer undergoing the biggest transformation.

“And the hell of it was, I knew I loved her-fiercely and with every part of my heart, even the broken parts that felt unworthy and without value. And maybe those parts most of all.”

I just need to let something out. Mia, you literally broke my heart with your little stunt. How could you? You had me crying, screaming at my tablet and I almost wanted to throw my tablet through the room. That was so not funny. I almost didn’t want to finish the book. Not funny, not funny at all.

“Inside, it was my deepest hope that my love would enough to heal his wounded heart.”

Archer’s Voice really touched my heart. I still get emotional right now, writing about it. The book contains a heart-wrenching story about two people that are scared to fall in love, who have all these secrets, and who need to learn how to trust each other, so they can both heal. This book gave me so many thoughts and so many feelings. It gave me a book hangover, and I don’t have them often. I wasn’t ready to start reading about another book couple. Archer’s Voice is exceptional and one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read. Everyone should read it!

black-underline-swirl-hi

QUOTES

“It was as if my body was his instrument and he learned to play it so perfectly that the melody vibrated within my very soul.”
“Every morning the flashback came, and every evening I felt stronger again. Each dawn I had hope that this new day would be the one that would set me free, and that I would make it through without having to endure the pain of being chained in grief to the night that would forever separate now from then.”
“I looked over at his amused face. You’re good at everything you do, aren’t you? I asked, cocking my head to the side and squinting at him.
He looked thoughtful for a few seconds before signing, Yes.”
“I supposed that we all coped in our different ways-pain and healing as individual as the people who experienced them.”
“Bad things don’t happen to people because they deserve for them to happen. It just doesn’t work that way. It’s just… life. And no matter who we are, we have to take the hand we’re dealt, crappy though it may be, and try our best to move forward anyway, to love anyway, to have hope anyway… to have faith that there’s a purpose to the journey we’re on.”
“[…] her love slips quietly around me, holding me, anchoring me, reminding me that the loudest words are the ones we live.”I realized that people’s reactions had more to do with them, more to do with who they were, than anything about me.”

black-underline-swirl-hi

BUY LINK FOR ARCHER’S VOICE

Amazon

Add it to Goodreads here!

Love,
Michelle

2 thoughts on “Book Review: ARCHER’S VOICE by Mia Sheridan

Leave a Reply

