Blog Tour Review: ALWAYS ROOM FOR CUPCAKES by Bethany Lopez

In January, I revealed some teasers for ALWAYS ROOM FOR CUPCAKES. The newest romantic comedy novel by Bethany Lopez. Always Room for Cupcakes released on February 2nd and I was one of the lucky ones who got the opportunity to read it. So today, as part of the Blog Tour, I’m sharing my review of the novel with you. Always Room for Cupcakes is live, so go grap your own copy (check the end of this article for the purchase links)!

cupcake (4)
Always Room for Cupcakes by Bethany Lopez
Published on February 2, 2016
Genres: Romantic Comedy, Suspense, Contemporary
Also by this author: Friends & Lovers series, Indelible, Time for Love series
Hosted by InkSlinger PR

black-underline-swirl-hi

BLURB

One day I was be-bopping along jamming to the music in my head while wondering if my thighs could handle grabbing a cupcake on the way home. The next thing I knew, my entire world crashed and burned.
I used to wake up at night in a sweat, crying because I’d dreamt that my husband was cheating on me, or that he hated me, and resented my kids. He’d always hold me close and tell me it was all just a dream, that he loved me and our family and that he’d never let me go.
He was a f*cking liar.
Now I spend my days taking photos of scum just like him, trying to be a champion for other’s being taken advantage of by the losers in our town, and my nights being a single mom to my beautiful twins.
I’ve got great friends who have my back, and a sexy, mysterious motorcycle man who keeps showing up when I need him. Maybe things are starting to look up, and one thing’s for sure… There’s always room for cupcakes.

cupcake (4)

black-underline-swirl-hi

REVIEW

*** Disclaimer: I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review. However, this doesn’t affect my opinion of this book and the words in this review. ***

“Lila, there’s times when a word’s just a word, and other times when it comes from the heart.”

Always Room for Cupcakes was the first novel I’ve read by the very talented Bethany Lopez, and I absolutely loved it! I finished the book in less than five hours. One sitting. I just couldn’t put it away. Always Room for Cupcakes is a romantic suspense with a lot of humour. One minute I had chills and shivers from all those kisses and touches, the next minute those chills and shivers arised from fear. Only to be exchanged for tears another minute later. And to top it off, Bethany Lopez made me laugh occasionally. Always Room for Cupcakes is a fast paced tale about betrayal in love, picking yourself up, finding an instant connection with someone who isn’t your type at all, learning to trust again and finally, finding love for the second time.

“Now I figure, I’ve waited a long time and I know what I want. What I want is you… so, no, I don’t think it’s going too fast. I think it’s taking too damn long. I know where I’m at, I’m just waiting for you to catch up.”

Lila is broken, ten months after she caught her cheating husband. Who isn’t named in the entire story, until the last part. Which is funny, because Lila just calls him The Douche, as do her friends. He left her high and dry. After being a housemother for all those years (ten years of being a mother, twelve years of being a wive), Lila needs to pick up a real job to provide for her and her two children: the twins, Elin and Elena. I love those names, BTW. So she picks up shifts at her best friend’s bakery. Because she loves cupcakes and she has a really good friend in Amy May. But, because that is not enough, she has another side job. Lila works for a sleazy PI, delivering photograpic evidence off all the ragtag in town. Nobody, besides her two best friends, knows about these activities. Or so Lila thought…

Tingling head to toe from the adrenaline, and the close contact with a seriously hot man, I couldn’t stop my lips from spreading into a grin as we took off down Main Street.

When her job becomes a dangerous one, she is rescued by the mysterious, motorcycle riding bad-boy. Cade. Apparently, he has been following her for a couple weeks. At first, I didn’t know what to think about him. He came of dangerous and he had that stalker vibe. But Lila and Cade had an instant connection, and even though he was a complete stranger, she seemed to trust him. After their first date, I took a liking to him. He was still mysterious and didn’t like to talk about himself, but his honesty was apparent when he told Lila that this was his first date ever. He really liked her. I loved his bluntness. Cade tells you like it is. He says what he thinks and tells you what he wants. And with the description Bethany gave us of his appearance, I fell in love with Cade. Motorcycle boots, skinny jeans and a leather jacket. *SWOON*. Trimmed beard, dark eyes, dark shoulder-length hair. Sexy! Dangerous!

Everything about him was dark. His eyes, his hair, his deeply tanned skin. He wore a trimmed beard, which only added to his dangerous look, and had what looked like shoulder-length wavy hair, which was pulled back off of his face. Paired with motorcycle boots, jeans that fit like a glove, and a black leather jacket, the man was a billboard for raw male sexuality.

Lila and Cade’s relationship progresses gradually throughout the story. In a believable and natural pace. Sometimes, it seems fast, but it’s just very believable. Fortunately, there is no insta-love, just an instant attraction. Lila wants to do the right thing. So even though she is putting herself in danger, she doesn’t stop. She wants do justice and finish her job. Luckily, her other best friend, Bea, is a cop and she shares all the illegal stuff she sees with Bea. So with the support of her two best friends and the safety of Cade, she wants to finish her most dangerous job yet. Is she going to succeed?

“This is different for me, so it’s kind of good that you’re out of practice. Maybe you won’t realize right away when I fuck up.”

I liked Bethany’s writing. It wasn’t special, but it was good. It gets you hooked on the story. It also makes you form some kind of bond with Lila. And even with the side characters: Amy May, Bea, Cade, Lila’s children. I had the feeling I was experiencing the story together with Lila. Not only because of the high quality of Bethany’s writing, but also because she chose to write the tale in first person from solely Lila’s perspective. You didn’t get to know Cade’s thoughts or his activities when he wasn’t with Lila. I think that’s really what made the story for me. You’re only focused on Lila and you get just as surprised as her when that one nasty twist finds his way into the story. Maybe it wasn’t the most unpredictable story, but it had it’s fickle moments and I thought the storyline was authentic.

“We’ll have dinner, coffee, go to the movies, whatever. And eventually I’ll get my fists in all of this thick red hair.” His hand slid up my back, into my hair, cupping the back of my head. “And I’ll get to see those blue eyes go heavy with desire as I move above you.” I felt my eyes getting heavy, just as he’d described, as he spoke, and my lips parted as I tried to remain focused. “Seeing that lush ass move as you walk down the street, full of attitude and fire, the way your face lights up when you’re laughing with your kids, and the way you felt, arms around my waist, tits against my back when I had you on my bike… Those are just some of the reasons I just became a man who dates.”

Overall, I just loved this story. I loved Lila’s friendships. I loved the attraction, sparks and lust between Lila and Cade. And I loved how Cade did his best to take care of Lila. He has a sweet side after all. I can’t wait to read Bethany’s other books, because of her engaging prose. If you’re looking for a romance with suspence, thrill, humour, a strong heroine and a sexy bad-ass hero, Always Room for Cupcakes is an absolute must for on your TBR-list.

We didn’t rush, instead relishing the feeling of being joined. Loving every moment, every sigh, every touch. Reveling in the fact that we were alive.

4 CUPCAKE STARS (★★★★)

black-underline-swirl-hi

ABOUT BETHANY LOPEZ

A1nt0F1SfnL._UX250_ Award-Winning Author Bethany Lopez began self-publishing in June 2011. She’s a lover of all things romance: books, movies, music, and life, and she incorporates that into the books she writes. When she isn’t reading or writing, she loves spending time with her husband and children, traveling whenever possible. Some of her favorite things are: Kristen Ashley Books, coffee in the morning, and In N Out burgers.
Bethany Lopez is represented by Marisa Corvisiero of Corvisiero Literary Agency.

Website ** Twitter ** Facebook ** Goodreads ** Pinterest ** Amazon

black-underline-swirl-hi

ARFC-teaser

Special Release Week Price is $2.99

PURCHASE LINKS FOR ALWAYS ROOM FOR CUPCAKES

AmazoniBooksSmashwordsNookKobo

Add it to Goodreads here!

Love,
Michelle

-zInkSlinger Blogger

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour Review: ALWAYS ROOM FOR CUPCAKES by Bethany Lopez

Leave a Reply

