Blog Tour Review: JUST ONE NIGHT by Jami Wagner

Again, Happy Book Birthday to Jami Wagner for her newest novel in the Black Alove series: Just One Night! Maybe you’ve already seen the Release Day Launch I posted earlier. Now, check out my review of the new adult/romantic comedy. Just One Night is live, so go grap your own copy (check the end of this article for the purchase links)!

justonenight-wagner-ebook
Just One Night by Jami Wagner
Series: Black Alcove, #2
Published on February 16, 2016
Genres: New Adult, Romantic Comedy
Also by this author: Date in the Dark
Other books in the series: Just One Kiss
Hosted by InkSlinger PR

black-underline-swirl-hi

BLURB

Sara and Logan have always known their relationship was different because they were never very good at the “just friends” thing. They’re finally ready to embrace a deeper side—but are they ready for big-time problems?
Sara Connelly has a drive for success. She hasn’t made time for men because the way she sees it, a career she can control but a relationship she can’t. Just one night was all it took to send her running on a trip to collect her thoughts and re-group back to her career-focused life. But when she comes home, she quickly learns there might be more important things in life than owning her own business, and that’s Logan Parker.
Logan Parker coasts through life day by day, and as long as Sara is a part of that life, he’s happy. One night has left Logan with the impression that more than friends is an option. But when Sara leaves without an explanation, he vows to show her how important she is to him. When an opportunity gives him the chance to be someone he thinks Sara would be proud of, he doesn’t pass on the offer. Her moving across state lines, however, wasn’t in his plans.
Living in two states is going to be hard. Holding a long-distance relationship is going to be harder. They’ve made it this far, but can they make it work or will distance finally tear them apart?

justonenight-wagner-ebook

black-underline-swirl-hi

REVIEW

*** Disclaimer: I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review. However, this doesn’t affect my opinion of this book and the words in this review. ***

I left with the idea I wanted space, but I returned with the idea I need Logan.

Before Just One Night, I hadn’t read any of Jami Wagner’s books. So I didn’t really know what to expect. The only thing I could get a vibe of off is the cover. A cover I love. Especially because of the colors, but also because of the composition. Just One Night is the second novel in the Black Alcove series, but fortunately all books can be read as a standalone. And that’s exactly what I did. Just One Night has all the ingredients for a sweet and perfect romance. Luckily, it’s a multi-layered romance. It isn’t solely about love between friends, but it’s a tale about two friends who love each other very much. Two friends that both have their own insecurities. Deep-layered insecurities that make up for amazing background-stories. And those uncertainties may be destructive to their wish of a successful relationship. But that’s not the only thing that is sabotaging their newfound and fragile relation. There is much, much more.

“Being with you scares me. I’m scared of the way I feel, how I think, the ideas I get. I think more of you than I do of my own future, and that terrifies me.”

Sara Connelly is a controlfreak. The most important thing in her life (at least in the beginning of the book) is her will to be successful. And for her successful is having a fruitful career, by owning her own bar. She always had feeling for Logan, but those feeling scare her because she can’t control them. That’s also why she sees Logan as one of her biggest weaknesses.

I’ll never get over the way she makes me feel. Like I’m important, proud, loved. She makes me want to be a better man.

Logan Parker has a whole other outlook on life. He lives his life day by day and he isn’t at all scared of his feelings for Sara. He can’t wait for them to be more than friends. All though just friends has always been difficult for the two of them. Logan is screwed in the head in a different way. He doesn’t strive for control, but he just wants to be loved. That finally someone in his life would pick him. It’s a result of being in a lot of foster families. His own parents and a couple foster families didn’t want him. It has scarred him. He has the constant feeling he has to prove himself to other’s. He thinks he needs to prove that he’s good enough for Sara and he also thinks that Sara deserves better than him.

Quote-SaraLogen

And the last thing that scares me, the thing that could ruin me, is committing to someone who will leave me with a broken heart. Committing to Logan Parker to be exact.

Sara and Logan have been best friends for a very long time. In high school, they even were a couple. Logan broke up with Sara, because he didn’t want to have a girlfriend when he would start his new life at college. At least, that’s what he tells her. There is a little more to it than that. But with breaking up, he didn’t only break their relationship, he also broke Sara’s heart and her trust. She developed some serious commitment issues. Yet, five years later Sara agrees to one night with him, when he confesses that the break-up was the biggest mistake he ever made. After their one night together, Sara’s defense-mechanism kicks in and she runs. For a year, she’s traveling around the world. When she gets back, she’s sure of two things (or so she thinks): her career is still important to her, but so is Logan. When Sara and Logan are finally ready to make things official, her career comes in the way. And so does his career. Her father gives her the opportunity to own her own bar. There is just one teensy little problem: the bar is in Colorado, another state. Meanwhile, with Sara leaving, Logan gets his own chance of a lifetime at The Black Alcove.

We are Sara and Logan. We are the best when we are together, and we’re made for each other.

This will give them the space and time to grow as a couple, while both growing individually in their careers. Their still vulnerable relation is tested in so many ways. Temptations in the form of other people. Secrets. They both keep a lot of secrets from each other. Other people’s lies. Being busy with bar stuff. Distance. They don’t get to see a lot of each other. Sara’s dad, Dean. I really developed some serious hate feelings for Dean. To be honest, I’m still feeling them, even after finishing the book. He was playing some sick game and it’s so obvious. Funny thing is, both Sara and Logan had their suspicions from the beginning, but ignored it. Thinking they were just seeing things, as did I. I’m not going to spoil it, so I’ll just leave it at that. These tests cause Sara’s and Logan’s insecurities to come into play. Will they be successful in maintaining a long-distance commitment while in the early stages of their relationship?

He locks a dreamy gaze with mine and my heart starts to race, the way it does every time his eyes are on me. It makes me feel wanted, desired.

Aside from Dean and Abby, I loved every other side character in Just One Night. Kelsey, Sara’s best friend. Ethan, Sara’s cousin and Kelsey’s husband. Beth, Sara’s and Logan’s good friend and employee at The Black Alcove. Connor, Kelsey’s brother and Logan’s best friend. And even Liam. At first, I was a little wary of him. But soon after that I knew he was a good guy and I became to love him. I loved Ms. Wagner’s writing. Just One Night is written from two alternating perspectives: Sara and Logan. Jami chose first person narrative and I like that best. It always makes me feel like the characters are personally telling the story to me. I also really liked the words and the construction of the sentences. They make the tale more appealing, captivating and pleasant to read.

For me, it doesn’t matter whose place we pick, as long as I’m with Sara, I’m home. 

Just One Night really charmed me. I loved reading about all the insecurities Logan and Sara had and how they survived it to make their relationship wonderful. I absolutely cherished how their friends tried their best to help them. So I admired the love and the friendships. I genuinely want to read about Kelsey and Ethan’s story now, which is described in the first book of the Black Alcove series. And I can’t wait to see Connor’s life unravel. This may be my first Jami Wagner novel, but it certainly won’t be my last. If you are looking for a romance between two friends who have a lot of stumbling blocks to overcome, individually and together, Just One Night should be high on your to-read-next list.

“Sara, I don’t know how many more times I have to say this, but I’ll say it every day if I have to until we grow old and can no longer form sentences.” He pauses and takes a step toward me. “You. Are. It. For. Me.”

4 JUST ONE NIGHT STARS (★★★★)

black-underline-swirl-hi

ABOUT JAMI WAGNER

Jami WagnerJAMI WAGNER was born in Wyoming. Still living in the Cowboy State, Jami and her boyfriend are currently writing their own love story with their yellow lab.
Jami enjoys writing New Adult and published her debut novella Date in the Dark in 2015. The first book in her Black Alcove series, Just One Kiss, released in October 2015.

Website ** Twitter ** Facebook ** Goodreads ** Goodreads Giveaway ** Instagram

black-underline-swirl-hi

PURCHASE LINKS FOR JUST ONE NIGHT

AmazoniBooksSmashwordsBarnes and NobleKobo

Add it to Goodreads here!

Love,
Michelle

-zInkSlinger Blogger

Leave a Reply

