Blog Tour Review: BECAUSE by Jennifer Foor

Because_mock1bBecause by Jennifer Foor
Series: Seven Year Itch, #4
Publication Date: March 14, 2016
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Other books in the series: Binge, Bereft, Belong
Hosted by InkSlinger PR

Purchase: Amazon US
Add to Goodreads!

black-underline-swirl-hi

SUMMARY

I’ve heard if you can make it through the first seven years of marriage you’ve made it past the tough part and it’s smooth sailing.
Whoever said that was an idiot.
I’ve been married for seven years, and in that time I’ve waited for my immature husband to grow up and become a responsible man.
It still hasn’t happened, and I’m at the end of my rope. I need him to be a father to our child, not someone who needs his own toys to be content.
I want a partner, not a guy more concerned about his friends than his wife.
This is my marriage, and before I throw in the towel I’ve decided to do something drastic to make it happen.
I’m Shayla Vincent and this is my story.

black-underline-swirl-hi

REVIEW

Passion Sexy Portrait Of Couple In Love

4 BECAUSE TRUST STARS (★★★★)

*** Disclaimer: I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review. However, this doesn’t affect my opinion of this book and the words in this review. ***

Seven years later I’m married to someone I love with my whole heart, but also loath at the same time.

When you talk about beautiful stories, Because is a perfect example. I can’t put into words how this book touched my heart. I didn’t know what to expect when I saw the cover and read the summary. It did appeal to me, but I wasn’t too enthusiastic to start. After a couple chapters it was immediately clear to me that Because is a winner! Because takes you onto a very emotional rollercoaster and pulls on all the right heart strings.

The person in the reflection is lost, scarred, and afraid. I hate her as I stare and watch tears falling from my eyes. Crying isn’t what bothers me the most. Its knowing I probably can’t fix what is broken, both inside of me and with my marriage. How can I get my husband to change when I don’t want to change myself?

Shayla and Brandon are married for seven years, but their marriage is broken. It all started at high school, were they got into a relationship. After a couple unhandy choices, like forgetting to use a condom, Shayla got pregnant with their beautiful little girl, Aberdeen. It didn’t last long before Brandon asked Shayla to marry him, and they did. All this time, Shayla waited for the moment Brandon grew into an adult. The moment he would put her first, instead of his friends. Unfortunately, that moment never came.

In these seven years, Brandon hasn’t changed a bit, but Shayla has. Because of Brandon’s supercilious remarks, Shayla hasn’t only lost faith in Brandon and their marriage, but also in herself. Now they are in a terrible marriage. Shayla tries to do everything she can to show Brandon that something is wrong and that change is needed. But do as she may, Brandon keeps insisting it’s all good between them.

Soon, Shayla figures out they need to take drastic measures to salvage their marriage. They separately need to work on their selves, if they want to have any hope in coming out stronger at the other side. Will her actions be their salvation or will it destroy everything they have been building up in these seven years.

She thinks I don’t love her anymore. She’s wrong. My love for her is different than when we were teenagers. It’s changed, grown even, but at the same time it’s damaged. We’re damaged.

I was immediately immersed in the story. I felt like I could easily connect with both characters. I got emotional when seeing how much Shayla loves Brandon. I instantly sympathized with her. She wants to save her marriage, because Brandon means everything to her. Only, she doesn’t has a clue how to achieve that. In the beginning, I didn’t completely understand Brandon, so I wanted to step in the book to tell Shayla that she should give up on Brandon. He behaved terribly towards her. I couldn’t imagine wanting to live a life like that. He made sure she felt uncertain and she was thoroughly broken because of him.

I loved reading Brandon’s POV, because it gave me the opportunity to better understand the motives behind his behavior, whereby I could shine a more objective light on their damaged marriage. I could actually see how much he loves Shayla and that he wasn’t the only one to blame for their marriage failing. It also became clear that Brandon might not be the most ideal husband, but he is a fantastic dad. Aberdeen means a lot to him and I thought that was really cute.

I didn’t entirely get why Brandon stood so against resolving their problem. For so long, he kept insisting nothing was wrong and that Shayla overreacted. Which made him behave ludicrous. I couldn’t apprehend his way of thinking. He assumed Shayla would change her mind if he provoked her. So it was a relief when he finally worked it out and I was hoping for them both that he wasn’t too late. That Shayla didn’t give up on them already, because I know for sure that I wouldn’t lasted that long.

“I’m determined to fix this. Brandon can promise me the world, but it’s never going to repair what’s broken inside of me. I have to do that myself. It’s going to be hard, but this fight isn’t just for me. It’s for my family.”

Shayla is severely depressed and she has low self-esteem. Because I recognize myself in her, it was easy for me to put myself in her shoes. She felt like a real person and made me think about myself. I know how it feels not wanting to look in the mirror because you hate what you see. That’s why I had a lot of respect for her choice to work on herself. That is not an easy choice to make. No matter how often people around you tell you how pretty you are and that they love you, it will never resonate if you don’t believe it and if you don’t love yourself.

With Because Jennifer Foor tells the emotional story between two broken individuals who are trying to find their way back to each other. The book contains real characters who play into your emotions and feelings.

Brandon is my kryptonite. As much as I know he might be bad for me, I crave more. I need it, because nothing else can give me what he does.

Because is compellingheartrending and heartwarming at the same time. This may be my first book by Jennifer Foor, but it won’t certainly be my last. I am curious about the other books in her Seven Year Itch series. Undoubtedly when those are just as gripping and touching as Shayla and Brandon’s story. Are you looking for a romance novel that isn’t lighthearted, but contains a story that is inspirational, moving and that ignites hope? You should definitely pick up a copy of Because.

I need him like I need the air to breathe. I want him like he’s the only hope for happiness. It’s a hunger I can’t refuse.

Young woman with beautiful long brown hair posing at studio, profile over black background, toned

black-underline-swirl-hi

ABOUT JENNIFER FOOR

jennfoor1A Maryland native who spends most of her time devising a plan to live off the land on some remote island, where no one will ever find her.
She is a married mother of two kids, who may or may not drive her completely bonkers. In her spare time she enjoys shooting pool, camping and spending time with friends and family.

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Amazon

black-underline-swirl-hi

because tease 2

couple heterosexual in love studio shot

Love,
Michelle

-zInkSlinger Blogger

One thought on “Blog Tour Review: BECAUSE by Jennifer Foor

Leave a Reply

