Blog Tour Review: ADRENALINE by Kelly Elliott

adrenaline_amazonAdrenaline by Kelly Elliott
Series: Speed, #2
Publication Date: March 22, 2016
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Also by this author: Wanted series
Other book in the series: Ignite
Hosted by InkSlinger PR

Pre-order: Amazon USiBooks
Add to Goodreads!

black-underline-swirl-hi

SUMMARY

Malcolm Wallace lived for the adrenaline rush. If he wasn’t living life on the edge, he wasn’t living. He had no time for relationships, let alone love.
When one event changes Malcolm’s entire future, he must turn to the one person who makes him doubt his entire philosophy on life.
Paislie Pruitt.
She’s beautiful.
She’s strong.
She’s the one rush Malcolm never saw coming.
I pulled Black Jack to a stop as I looked out over the hill country. There was nothing like being back at home in Texas and on the ranch. No early morning strategizing meetings with Dalton. No pressure from the sponsors to be on my A game. Nothing to worry about at all.
Just nature.

black-underline-swirl-hi

REVIEW

adrenaline5-1

4 ADRENALINE STARS (★★★★)

*** Disclaimer: I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review. However, this doesn’t affect my opinion of this book and the words in this review. ***

I’d only talked to this man twice and yet each time he brought out emotions I’d never before experienced in my life. I wasn’t sure if I should be thrilled beyond belief, or scared shitless.

Even though I haven’t read the first novel in the Speed series, Ignite, I wanted to read Adrenaline as my first Kelly Elliott novel. Luckily these two books can also be read as standalones, because Ignite is about Emmit and Adaline, who do play a big part in this novel, and Adrenaline contains Malcolm and Paislie’s love story. Well, I am in love… with Malcolm and Paislie, with Emmit and Adaline, and with Kelly Elliott. Because this author really knows how to sell a believable and emotional romance between two broken people who both didn’t think they were capable of giving and receiving love.

“I didn’t invite you here with hopes that I could fuck you. There are plenty of women out there that I could pick up and fuck.” She swallowed hard as I kept her eyes trained on mine. “I invited you here because you make me feel different.”

After losing, what he thought was, the one girl he ever loved at a very young age, Malcolm knew he could never love someone else. To him women are not for feelings, but for f***ing. Malcolm believes he isn’t capable to develop romantic feelings for a female person, but that doesn’t stop him feeling longing for a family of his own every time he sets his eyes on his new best friend Emmit with his perfect wife and child. The only time Malcolm can feel again is when he is feeling the adrenaline rush while racing.

The broken Paislie also thinks she isn’t capable to love another human being. Which is quite logical if you think about the fact that after losing her mother to death, her father didn’t want her and left her at the orphanage when she was just a small child. Scared to open up her heart to men, because she fears they will leave her just like her father did, she uses sex to forget about life. Time and time again the men in her life prove to her what she already knows, she is not meant to love or to be loved. Paislie finds it very important to always be honest and she expects the same of the people in her life.

After a sizzling first meeting, both are overcome with these rare feelings for each other. Feelings they have never felt before and thought they could never feel at all. When both know only how to interact through sex, they are shocked to find out things between them are about so much more. They actually want to get to know each other. But maybe they were both right, maybe they were never meant to trust and love. It is all being put to the test when the worst imaginable thing happens.

“When you’ve been lied to your whole life by people, especially men, you learn how to read when people are telling the truth and when they’re not.”

I started reading and I was a little bit disappointed. I don’t know exactly what caused it, but I had trouble getting into the story and creating a bond with the characters. It may had to do something with the fact that everything went at a fast pace, without anything actually happening in the first, let’s say, seven chapters. I was just waiting for the moment that Paislie and Malcolm would meet.

Luckily, their first encounter, and the rest of the novel, made up for a lot. That encounter was crackling with sexual tension. Sparks were literally flying. And after that I had no problem with being fully engorged in the budding romance between Paislie and Malcolm. They had a very easy connection and we slowly got to know them as they got to know each other.

I loved their witty banter a lot and I thought Paislie’s need to always be honest, resulting in her being very blunt, refreshing. She always said what was on her mind and she wanted Malcolm to do the same. Even though she was scared as hell about everything going on between them, she knew that honesty and trust were two of the most important things to have from the start. Although Malcolm sometimes found it difficult to tell the truth, he was very cute and romantic. Totally swoon-worthy. And both their stories, the things they went through, were really heartbreaking and heart wrenching.

For the little amount of time I had spent with her, I had become addicted. It was as if she was a drug, and I needed a fix every single day.

The novel started strong with the prologue, as it showed two important events in the earlier lives of Malcolm and Paislie. Events that shaped them into the persons they are now. The prologue really gave you a better understanding of why they were having certain thoughts and the reason behind the way they reacted in some situations.

So after that big stumbling block of almost nothing happening, I was very pleased with Kelly’s writing style and her choice for small chapters. It eases you into the story and makes you flip the pages at a record speed. Everything Kelly describes was so visual I could really see Adrenaline being turned into a movie. Especially with the perfect ending.

First I thought the book was dragging a bit in the end, but after finishing the entire novel, I think it was a very smart choice Kelly made. It gave me the opportunity to really get a good feeling of closure for not only Malcolm and Paislie’s story, but also Emmit and Adaline’s. I also really liked the friendship between the four. And the epilogue was too sweet to put into words. I absolutely loved it! After reading about Emmit and Adaline in Adrenaline, I can’t wait to get to know their story in Ignite.

I never in a million years thought I would be uttering the words I was about to say. “I’m falling in love with you, Paislie.”

Adrenaline centers around letting go of the past. But also tells a story about learning how to love and to be loved, new beginnings. It shows how to forgive and forget after getting hurt. It’s daring you to trust, when you are scared to let people in. Friendship also plays a very important part in this beautiful tale with an exceptional happily ever after. Adrenaline is touching, emotional and full with love. You should really, really, really pick this one up.

“I can’t promise myself to you forever because I promised my heart to Paislie. I think before I even met her my heart was hers.”

Read an excerpt here!

adrenaline4

black-underline-swirl-hi

ABOUT KELLY ELLIOTT

kellyelliottKelly Elliott is married to a wonderful Texas cowboy who has a knack for making her laugh almost daily and supports her crazy ideas and dreams for some unknown reason…he claims it’s because he loves her!
She’s also a mom to an amazing daughter who is constantly asking for something to eat while her fingers move like mad on her cell phone sending out what is sure to be another very important text message.
In her spare time she loves to sit in her small corner overlooking the Texas hill country and write.
One of her favorite things to do is go for hikes around her property with Gus….her chocolate lab and the other man in her life, and Rose, her golden retriever. When Kelly is not outside helping the hubby haul brush, move rocks or whatever fun chore he has in store for her that day, you’ll find her inside reading, writing or watching HGTV.

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Goodreads ** Amazon

adrenaline9

 

Love,
Michelle

InkSlinger-Blogger banner-New

One thought on “Blog Tour Review: ADRENALINE by Kelly Elliott

Leave a Reply

