Blog Tour Review: FINDING EVAN by Lisa Swallow

FE.Ebook copyFinding Evan by Lisa Swallow
Series: Butterfly Days, #2
Publication Date: March 29, 2016
Genres: New Adult, Contemporary Romance
Other books in the series: Because of Lucy
Hosted by InkSlinger PR

Purchase: Amazon US
Add to Goodreads!

black-underline-swirl-hi

BLURB

“She killed a part of me – the part which trusts when someone tells you they love you, and allows you to trust that person with your heart.”
Ness and Evan return to Leeds from Europe, and begin their new life together. But the past Evan has buried for years resurfaces and threatens their future.
After fifteen years, Evan doesn’t want any contact with the woman who abandoned him, but is unwillingly pulled into his mother’s life by Lucy.
Feeling pushed aside by Ness’s focus on her studies and new friends, Evan can’t confide in Ness about what’s happening. This return to his old behavior adds more distance to their relationship. When Ness’s new friend Ollie picks up the pieces because Evan is away, Evan’s insecurities threaten their relationship further.
Ness becomes aware of Evan’s situation, and she questions whether he will ever be able to break his ties to those dragging him down. If he can’t put himself first, and live the life he wants, she is unable to see how their relationship could work. In return, Evan struggles with Ness’s inability to get close to people, and her distance pushes him further away.
The decision about the future of the relationship is taken out of their hands – by something that could end things between Ness and Evan forever…

black-underline-swirl-hi

REVIEW

5 FINDING EVAN STARS (★★★★★)

*** Disclaimer: I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review. However, this doesn’t affect my opinion of this book and the words in this review. ***

His heart beats steadily against my cheek and I luxuriate in the fact I have a guy who loves me, tells me and shows me in a million ways.

I was already heartbroken the moment I found out there was going to be a sequel to Because of Lucy, because I loved Evan and Ness so much after reading that novel. I was so happy to see they got their happily ever after, after everything they endured. Now to see it all crumble again, broke my fragile little heart. Especially because I felt like Evan and Ness were close friends of mine, I wanted to protect them from any harm. So I was reluctant to start Finding Evan, but I’m really glad I still did.

The warmth of Ness and the softness of her skin soothes me. Our love grounds me in all that’s good in my life. Her. Us.

After a two-month-long European vacation, Evan and Ness return to the real world. They both start of with doubts and fears as to how their relationship will evolve in a new phase of both their lives. Such as, Ness starting a new study, where she will be making new friends. They’re also going to be surrounded by their old friends and probably a lot of Lucy-problems will come to play. Although it seemed like their communication system was a lot better than it was in Because of Lucy, soon the cracks are showing. The biggest difference from their time in Europe will be the distance between the two. After spending every day together that will take some adjusting to, as they live separately in Leeds. That just might be their downfall.

They slowly acclimate in Leeds, both having their first classes. Ness immediately makes friends with Jared and Ollie on the first day and Ollie seriously resembled Evan and that was a very bad thing for Evan and Ness’s relationship. Soon, the irritations and insecurities start at both sides. Evan becomes jealous of the time Ness spends at school, especially the time she spends with Ollie. But at the same time, Ness keeps Evan at arms length.

To make matters worse for Evan, Lucy intends to make his life even more terrible by locating and contacting their mother, who abandoned them years ago. Evan doesn’t know how to deal with the added problems and with the new distance between him and Ness, so he decides to keep it to himself, not knowing a way to tell her. I guess, old habits are hard to break. But with the secrets and distance, things just go from worse to worst.

“You and me are more than just you and me. We’re…we.”

I love the fact that Lisa’s books find place in England and are written in British English. I just like reading about words like ‘bloody’, such words make a lot of appearances. I also love the fact Finding Evan had short chapters, as it urges you to flip the pages even quicker. The writing from Finding Evan was similar to Because of Lucy, but it was actually even better. It was more engaging and I just thought it was beautifully written. You could almost call it prose. I wanted to highlight so much, because I loved all the passages and sentences. In Because of Lucy I already fell in love with Evan and Ness, but reading its sequel I fell in love with them even more. They surely hold a piece of my heart and I don’t mind at all. They can have it! Finding Evan also had a very satisfying end, but I also had the feeling there could be another book containing another part of Evan and Ness’s story. I had the feeling their story wasn’t really finished here.

“That’s because I’ve fallen in love with you over and over since we met, and there’s never been a single day when I haven’t thought about you. So when I look at you, I can’t hide. My heart won’t let me.”

Finding Evan is about old habits, trust and abandonment issues, and not knowing how to communicate. It’s about letting your insecurities go, not holding back and letting people in entirely. Finding Evan made me laugh, but also made me cry a couple of times. If you read Because of Lucy, you should really give its sequel a chance. Finding Evan is a beautifully written, emotional pageturner.

Two souls but with a single thought
Two hearts that beat as one

black-underline-swirl-hi

ABOUT LISA SWALLOW

LisaSwallow Lisa is an Amazon bestselling author of contemporary and paranormal romance. She is originally from the UK and moved to Australia in 2001. She now lives in Perth, Western Australia with her husband, three children, and Weimaraner, Tilly, who often makes appearances on Lisa’s social media.
Lisa’s first publication was a moving poem about the rain, followed by a suspenseful story about shoes. Following these successes at nine years old there was a long gap in her writing career, until she published her first book in 2013.
In the past, Lisa worked as an English teacher in France, as an advertising copywriter in England, and ran her own business in Australia. Now she spends her days with imaginary rock stars.
She lived in Europe as a child and also travelled when she left university. This has given Lisa stories which would sound far-fetched if she wrote them down, and maybe one day she will. These days, Lisa is happy in her writing cave, under Tilly’s supervision.

Website ** Twitter ** Facebook ** Newsletter ** Amazon ** Blue Phoenix Facebook

FE_QUOTES

Love,
Michelle

Leave a Reply

